Nepal bags women's T20I series title


Kathmandu: Nepal has won the title by defeating Hong Kong by 13 runs based on the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method in the final of the four-nation women’s T20I series.

Chasing a target of 102 runs for victory, Nepal lost 1 wicket in 5.3 overs and scored 37 runs, but the match was halted due to bad weather.

Nepal won on the basis of the Duckworth-Lewis method after the rematch could not take place.

Before the ICC Women’s World T20 Asia Zone Qualifiers, four countries including Nepal played a series.

Nepal will play against Thailand on Monday as a final preparation. The ICC Women’s Asia Regional Qualifier will be played in Malaysia from August 31 to September 9.

Nepal’s group includes UAE, Qatar, Malaysia, Bhutan and Bahrain. Group B consists of China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Myanmar and Thailand.

The top two teams will play in the semi-finals.

The two teams that reach the final will be eligible to play in the Global Women’s T20 World Cup in 2024.